0049(0)3066763806 captn@eastern-comfort.com
Eastern Comfort Berlin
Sleep on the waves

Welcome to Berlins Hostelboat

Eastern Comfort Berlin Reception
Comfortable cabins for every budget with unbeatable views.
Boats with history & environmentally friendly
Original and quirky accomodation idea in Berlin
Eastern Comfort Berlin Bridge

Experience an adventure

directly beside the berlin Wall and Oberbaumbrücke

Berlins most beautiful bridge

Welcome Onboard

Welcome to the virtual home of the Eastern Comfort Hostelboats and the Floating Lounge. Our hotel is moored directly between Berlin´s lively districts of Kreuzberg and Friedrichshain, and we´re proud to be regularly named as one of Berlins best hotels.

Both of our hotels are open all year round for booking. Get to know our friendly Eastern Comfort Crew and discover the best that Berlin has to offer.

Eastern Comfort Kabinen

€16+ /Night
  • Bunk Beds
  • Amazing views

Dorm Room

€68+ /Night
  • Large Rooms
  • WC / Shower
  • Large Bed
  • Amazing views

First Class Cabin

€58+ /Night
  • WC / Shower
  • Double Bed
  • Bunk Beds
  • Portholes

Second Class Cabin

€68+ /Night
  • WC / Shower
  • Bunk beds
  • Portholes
  • Amazing view

Four Bed Cabin

1st class cabin 360° tour

2nd class cabin 360° tour

Western Comfort Kabinen

€44+ /Night
  • Large Bed
  • Large Windows
  • Amazing view

Western Single

€50+ /Night
  • Large Bed
  • Bunk Beds
  • Large Windows
  • Amazing Views

Western 3 Bed

€15+ /Night
  • Large Lockbox
  • Amazing Views

Tent on the roof

What we offer

24 Hour Access

Free City Map

Boat Mooring

Cash and Card

Free WiFi

Muntilingual Crew

Breakfast

4PM Check In

Bike Rental

Event Location

Bar Lounge

Laundry Service

Information about our boats

Eastern Comfort

class description price / cabin from
a. 1. class Spacious double bed cabin, bathroom 78,- €
b. 1. class Spacious single bed cabin, bathroom 68,- €
c. 2. class Double bed cabin, bathroom 68,- €
d. 2. class Single bed cabin, bathroom 58,- €
f. 2. class 3 bed cabin, bathroom 81,- €
g. 2. class 4 bed cabin, bathroom 96,- €
i. 2. class 4 bed cabin, per guest, bathroom 19,- € *
j. 3. class Dorm cabin, shared bathroom 16,- € *
5% Bed Tax Incl.

On Weekends there is a minimum two night stay.
On holidays, there is a 5 € surcharge per person.
For events, there are special prices.
Breakfast Buffet all-you-can-eat 6 €.

Prices shown set from January 2017 until January 2018

Looking for an original gift?

How about a voucher for your loved one? With us you can simply buy, download, and print out your voucher. We´ve even got two possible designs: Portholes or Fish.
The vouchers are functional once we send you the voucher number, which we will do, once we´ve received payment.

Western Comfort

class description price / cabin from
h. 2. class three bed cabin, community shower 60,- € *
e. 2. class double bed cabin, community shower 50,- € *
l. 2. class single bed cabin, community shower 44,- € *
k. 3. class tent / open air on upper deck 15,- € (25,- € double) *
5% Bed Tax Incl.

* Bedsheets/Towel not included in price. We offer these for a once off payment of 5€ per person, or you can bring your own to save money.

On Weekends there is a minimum two night stay.
On holidays, there is a 5 € surcharge per person.
For events, there are special prices.
Breakfast Buffet all-you-can-eat 6 €.

Prices shown set from January 2017 until January 2018

Looking for an original gift?

How about a voucher for your loved one? With us you can simply buy, download, and print out your voucher. We´ve even got two possible designs: Portholes or Fish.
The vouchers are functional once we send you the voucher number, which we will do, once we´ve received payment.

Welcome to the virtual home of the Eastern Comfort Hostelboats and the Floating Lounge. Our hotel is moored directly between Berlin´s lively districts of Kreuzberg and Friedrichshain, and we´re proud to be regularly named as one of Berlins best hotels.

Both of our hotels are open all year round for booking. Get to know our friendly Eastern Comfort Crew and discover the best that Berlin has to offer.

Sleep on the waves of the spree: That´s what Berlins only Hostelboats, Eastern Comfort and Western Comfort offer. We´re moored in a perfect location at Oberbaumbrücke between the two coolest districts in the city, Kreuzberg and Friedrichshain. It´s easy to find trendy bars, famous clubs, and cool galleries within a couple of minutes walk from our boats.

Just twenty meters away, the East Side gallery stretches out for over a kilometre, the longest remaining part of the Berlin wall. We are plonked directly in the previous dead mans land border between east and west. There are hardly any areas in the capital with such historical value as our location.

Capt´n Edgar and his crew are looking forward to welcoming you to our very special atmosphere here onboard.

We´re open all year round, and even in the colder seasons, we´ll still warm you up. In summer, our spot is a proper hit in the city. On our deck terrace, you can enjoy the light breeze of the spree river with a cold drink in your hand and the sun in your face. You can also romanticize under the stars for your stay on our open air tent deck.

Altogether, we´ve got 43 available guest cabins, from our first class variation with panorama river views, to the most economical dorm beds with shared bathrooms. We´ve got an option for all budgets and tastes, from backpackers, couples, families, or groups.

You don´t have to worry about See-sickness by the way. At night is the Spree as still as a pond, and the boat floats perfectly still. Sometime the boat may move slightly as river traffic passes by, but this will only rock you in your sleep as if you were in a cot.

The Eastern Comfort offers various meeting points, both outside and in. At the Reception Area, at the main entrance area of the ship, you can find the main common area with a Television, Internet enabled computers, and a pay telephone.

Our highlight onboard, is our Floating Lounge on the top deck. Available here are Coffees, Cocktails, Beers, Softdrinks, and Snacks, not to mention the beautiful view of the river Spree thrown in for good measure.

Outside on the decks of the boats, one can indulge enjoy our smoking areas. Indoors however, smoking is not permitted… anywhere!

On Eastern Comfort, we´ve got 25 cabins in first and second class, all come with WC/Shower included.

Floating directly alongside, is the sister ship, Western Comfort, with it´s 18 triple/double/single cabins. Here, the toilets and showers are in a central spot outside the cabins. For all guests who want to spare their wallets, Western Comfort is a cheaper alternative to Eastern Comfort.

All services such as Breakfast and Reception can be found on the Eastern Comfort, which is of course, also available for the enjoyment of guests of Western.

All cabins in both ships have large windows, such as Portholes etc., and we offer either a view directly onto the East Side Gallery in the direction of Friedrichshain, or into Kreuzberg from across the Spree river.

In our Floating Lounge, you can grab a freshly pulled beer, Cocktails, Coffee, or snacks, and relax after a heavy day of city life. Both of our large outside decks belong to the lounge area, and feature wonderful views of Berlin – westwards towards the TV Tower in Mitte, and eastwards towards the Molecule Men in Treptow.

Regular dates include our weekly Wednesday Language Night, alongside various concerts partyies, and public viewing events. You can also exclusively rent out the lounge, and a number of staff, for your private party or conference, for up to 100 people. For obvious reasons, the locations is especially loved for use in engagement parties.

Our current Hostelboat began its life in 1991 in Genthin (Sachsen-Anhalt) under the name “Friedrich der Große”. It was originally supposed to be delivered to the Potsdamer Passanger Navigation Company White Fleet with it´s sister ship as a towboat on German canals and rivers. This never came about however, and the ship was used for a time as an unfixed hotel in Potsdam, and later sold in the North Sea. In Wilhelmshaven, the extra restaurant level was added, and the ship was used as the “Rüstringer Friese” Hotel Ship during the Hanover Expo in 2000.

After a number of years of vacancy, not to mention lengthy negotiations, the boat was acquired by the current owner, the globetrotter and architect Edgar Schmidt von Groeling, and brought at great expense to its current location in Berlin. In 2005, the Eastern Comfort Hostelboat opened it´s hatches to the global public.

The ship names Eastern and Western Comfort are a reference to our original locations on the eastern and western banks of the Spree, proximity to the East Side Gallery, and to emphasize the standard of comfort one can expect with us.

For boat experts who what to know the details: The Eastern Comfort is a pontoon-like floating hotel without a drive, but instead, has it´s own fresh water and waste water tanks, and our own water treatment plant. The ship has its own fire pumps, and two hydraulic bulkhead doors in the hallway of the basement, which can be sealed off in case of emergency or accident. The outer skin is made of 8mm Plate Steel.

  • For resource conservation, we have installed a solar thermal system which heats more than enough water on board, during sunny days. We are also planning a solar system to generate electricity, while our current oil heating system will soon be replaced by a heat pump or hydrogen heating.
  • Since 2008, from every booking, we donate a fixed amount to a charity of our choice, which is picked yearly. Currently we are helping an adult education project in South Africa which Capt´n Edgar knows personally.
  • Since 2010, we´ve also been supporting the TARGET e.V. Projektorganised by the German human rights activist Rüdiger Nehberg. The main objective of this organisation is to end female genital mutilation in Ethiopia and Mauritius. This is a project we really want to help, and 10c per booked room per day goes to this project. Which reaches up to 1450€ per year.
    • Water: Heated using solar radiation
    • Heat: Geothermal
    • Light: Energy efficient LEDs
    • Power: Your phone, and our lights, are powered using solar power
    • Groceries: Delivered using an electric car and electric bike
    • Boat tours: We use an electric boat
    • Our surroundings: For water birds and animals, we´ve created nests

    You can also do your part. Please spare drinking water, and turn out your light when you leave the room.

What´s in our area

Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On InstagramVisit Us On Twitter

0049(0)3066763806 captn@eastern-comfort.com
Eastern Comfort Berlin
Schlaf auf der Welle

Wilkommen in Berlins Hostelboat

Eastern Comfort Berlin Reception
Gemütliche Kabine für jedes Budget mit unschlagbarer Aussicht
Schiffe mit Geschichte & umweltfreundlich
Einzigartiges und originelles Übernachtungskonzept in Berlin
Eastern Comfort Berlin Bridge

Erlebe ein Abenteur

direkt neben der Berliner Mauer und Oberbaumbrücke

der schönsten Brücke in Berlin

Eastern Comfort Berlin Camping Platz

Unter freiem Himmel zelten

Willkommen

Willkommen auf der virtuellen Heimat des Eastern Comfort Hostelbootes und der Floating Lounge. Unser Hostel liegt zwischen Berlins lebendigsten Bezirken Kreuzberg und Friedrichshain und wir sind stolz darauf regelmässig als eines der besten Hostels Berlins bewertet zu werden.
Beide unserer Hostel- und Hotelschiffe sind rund ums Jahr geöffnet um Gäste zu beherbergen. Lerne unsere freundliche Eastern Comfort Crew kennen und entdecke das Beste was Berlin zu bieten hat.

Eastern Kabinen

€16+ /Night
  • Hochbetten
  • Tolles Blick

Mehrbettzimmer

€68+ /Night
  • Großere Zimmer
  • WC / Dusche
  • Großes Bett
  • Tolles Blick

Erste Klasse Kabine

€58+ /Night
  • WC / Dusche
  • Doppelbett
  • Hochbetten
  • Bullaugen

Zweite Klasse Kabine

€68+ /Night
  • WC / Dusche
  • Hochbetten
  • Bullaugen
  • Tolles Blick

Vier Bett Kabine

1. Klasse 360°

2. Klasse 360°

Western Kabinen

€44+ /Night
  • Großes Bett
  • Große Fenster
  • Tolles Blick

Western Single

€50+ /Night
  • Doppelbett
  • Hochbetten
  • Große Fenster
  • Tolles Blick

Western 3 Bett

€15+ /Night
  • Große Kiste
  • Toller Blick

Zelt auf´m Dach

Was wir anbieten

24 Stunden Rezeption

Kostenfreie Stadtpläne

Anlegerplatz

Karte und Bar

WLAN

Multisprachige Crew

Einchecken 16Uhr

Fahrradverleih

Frühstück

Event Location

Laundromat

Gutschein

Information

Klasse Beschreibung Preis / Kabine ab
a. 1. Klasse Geräumige Doppelbettkabine, eigenes Bad 78,- €
b. 1. Klasse Geräumige Einzelbettkabine, eigenes Bad 68,- €
c. 2. Klasse Doppelbettkabine, eigenes Bad 68,- €
d. 2. Klasse Einzelbettkabine, eigenes Bad 58,- €
f. 2. Klasse 3-Bettkabine, eigenes Bad 81,- €
g. 2. Klasse 4-Bettkabine, eigenes Bad 96,- €
i. 2. Klasse 4-Bettkabine pro Gast, eigenes Bad 19,- € *
j. 3. Klasse Mehrbettkabine, Gemeinschaftsdusche 16,- € *
5% Bettensteuer inkl.

* Bettzeug/Handtuch nicht inklusive. Einmalig 5,00 € oder bringt eigene Bettwäsche/Schlafsack einfach mit.

An Wochenden Buchungen mindestens 2 Nächte.
An Feiertagen 5 € pro Person extra.
Für Veranstaltungen gelten gesonderte Preise.
Frühstücksbuffet all-you-can-eat 6 €.

Preise gültig von Januar 2017 bis Januar 2018

Klasse Beschreibung Preis / Kabine
h. 2. Klasse 3-Bettkabine, Gemeinschaftsdusche 60,- € *
e. 2. Klasse Doppelbettkabine, Gemeinschaftsdusche 50,- € *
l. 2. Klasse Einzelbettkabine, Gemeinschaftsdusche 44,- € *
k. 3. Klasse Zelt / Open Air auf Oberdeck 15,- € (25,- € doppelt) *
5% Bettensteuer inkl.

* Bettzeug/Handtuch nicht inklusive. Einmalig 5,00 € oder bringt eigene Bettwäsche/Schlafsack einfach mit.

An Wochenden Buchungen mindestens 2 Nächte.
An Feiertagen 5 € pro Person extra.
Für Veranstaltungen gelten gesonderte Preise.
Frühstücksbuffet all-you-can-eat 6 €.

Preise gültig von Januar 2017 bis Januar 2018

Willkommen auf der virtuellen Heimat des Eastern Comfort Hostelbootes und der Floating Lounge. Eastern & Western Comfort Schiffe  liegen zwischen Berlins lebendigsten Bezirken Kreuzberg und Friedrichshain und wir sind stolz darauf regelmässig als eines der besten Hostels Berlins bewertet zu werden.
Beide unserer Hostel- und Hotelschiffe sind rund ums Jahr geöffnet um Gäste zu beherbergen. Lerne unsere freundliche Crew kennen mit ihre beste insider Tips  und entdecke das Beste was Berlin zu bieten hat.

Wohnen auf den Wellen der Spree: Das bieten Euch Berlins einzige Hostelschiffe Eastern Comfort und Western Comfort. Dazu eine perfekte Lage an der Oberbaumbrücke zwischen Kreuzberg und Friedrichshain, den zwei coolsten Bezirken der Stadt. Angesagte Clubs, Bars und Galerien findet Ihr beiderseits der Spree in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft.

Nur zwanzig Meter entfernt erstreckt sich die East Side Gallery, das längste noch erhaltene Teilstück der Berliner Mauer. Wir liegen mitten im ehemaligen Grenzbereich. An kaum einem anderen Ort ist die wechselvolle Geschichte der Hauptstadt so hautnah erlebbar.

Capt’n Edgar und seine Crew freuen sich, Euch in dieser einzigartigen Atmosphäre willkommen zu heißen!

Wir haben ganzjährig geöffnet, denn auch in der kühlen Jahreszeit machen wir es Euch mollig warm. Im Sommer ist unsere Lage ohnehin der Hit: Von den Bord-Terrassen aus genießt ihr die leichte Brise der Spree, dazu ein kaltes Getränk in der Hand und die Sonne im Gesicht… Ihr könnt sogar ein Zelt auf unseren Decks aufbauen oder eine romantische Nacht unter freiem Himmel verbringen!

Insgesamt stehen Euch 43 Gäste-Kabinen zur Verfügung, von der First-Class-Variante mit Panoramablick bis hin zur günstigen Mehrbettkoje mit Gemeinschaftsbad. Wir haben für alle Ansprüche und jeden Geldbeutel die richtige Unterkunft, ob für Backpacker, Paare, Familien oder Gruppen.

Seekrankheit müsst Ihr übrigens nicht befürchten. Nachts ist die Spree glatt wie ein Spiegel und die Schiffe liegen absolut still. Etwas Bewegung taucht lediglich bei vorbeifahrendem Schiffsverkehr auf – und die schaukelt euch in den Schlaf wie eine Wiege 🙂

Die Eastern Comfort bietet Euch verschiedene Treffpunkte, sowohl drinnen als auch draußen. Im Rezeptionsbereich am Bug sowie am Heck des Schiffes befinden sich Aufenthaltsräume mit TV, Internetrechnern und Münztelefon. Unser Highlight ist die Floating Lounge auf dem obersten Deck. Hier seid Ihr jederzeit zu Kaffee, Cocktails, Bier, Softdrinks und Snacks willkommen – Traumblick über die Spree inklusive.

Auf dem Deck des Hostels gibt es auch Raucherbereiche. In den Räumen und Kabinen des Schiff ist das Rauchen leider nicht gestattet.

Auf der Eastern Comfort erwarten Euch 25 Kabinen der Ersten und der Zweiten Klasse. Sie sind alle mit eigenem Duschbad/WC ausgestattet.

Gleich nebenan liegt das Schwesterschiff Western Comfort mit ihren 18 Drei- und Doppel- und Einzelbettkabinen. Hier sind die Duschen und Toiletten außerhalb der Kabinen zentral angeordnet. Für alle Gäste, die gern ihren Geldbeutel schonen, ist die Western Comfort die günstige Alternative zur Eastern Comfort.

Alle Services wie Frühstück und Rezeption befinden sich auf der Eastern Comfort. Sie stehen selbstverständlich auch den Gästen der Western Comfort zur Verfügung.

Auf beiden Schiffen haben alle Unterkünfte große Fenster bzw. Bullaugen und bieten entweder einen Ausblick Richtung Friedrichshain über die East Side Gallery oder Richtung Kreuzberg über die Spree.

In unserer Lounge könnt Ihr Euch bei frisch gezapftem Bier, Cocktails, Kaffee oder Snacks von einer langen Berlin-Erkundung entspannen. Zur Lounge gehören auch zwei große Außendecks mit wundervoller Aussicht – nach Westen bis hin zum Fernsehturm in Mitte, nach Osten bis hin zu den „Molecule Men“ in Treptow.

Feste Termine sind unsere Language Night jeden Mittwoch, daneben veranstalten wir gelegentlich Konzerte, Partys und Public Viewing-Events. Ihr könnt die Lounge mitsamt Personal auch für Eure Privatfeier oder eine Konferenz für bis zu 100 Personen exklusiv anmieten. Besonders beliebt ist die Lounge als Location für standesamtliche Trauungen.

Unser heutiges Hostelschiff wurde 1991 in Genthin (Sachsen-Anhalt) unter dem Namen „Friedrich der Große“ erbaut. Ursprünglich sollte es für die Potsdamer Fahrgastschifffahrts-Gesellschaft Weiße Flotte mit seinem Schwesterschiff mittels Schubschiff über die deutschen Kanäle und Flüsse geschoben werden. Hierzu kam es jedoch nie, das Schiff wurde stattdessen eine Zeitlang als festliegendes Hotel in Potsdam genutzt und später an die Nordseeküste verkauft. In Wilhelmshaven wurde es um eine Restaurant-Etage aufgestockt und diente unter dem Namen „Rüstringer Friese“ während der Expo in Hannover 2000 als Hotelschiff.

Nach etlichen Jahren Leerstand und langwierigen Verhandlungen wurde es vom jetzigen Eigentümer, dem Globetrotter und Architekten Edgar Schmidt von Groeling, erworben und mit großem Aufwand nach Berlin gebracht. Dort öffnete es im März 2005 unter dem Namen Eastern Comfort feierlich seine Luken für Gäste aus aller Welt.

Die Schiffsnamen Eastern und Western Comfort sind eine Referenz an unsere Lage am östlichen Spreeufer und die unmittelbare Nähe zur Eastside Gallery; außerdem möchten wir damit unseren Komfort nach westlichem Standard betonen.

Für Schiffexperten, die es ganz genau wissen möchten: Es handelt sich bei der Eastern Comfort um ein pontonartiges Hotelschiff ohne eigenen Antrieb, jedoch mit eigenen Frisch- und Abwassertanks sowie eigener Kläranlage. Das Schiff hat eigene Feuerlöschpumpen und zwei mittels Hydraulik schließbare Schottentore im Gang des Untergeschosses. Hier kann im Havariefall abgeschottet werden. Die Außenhaut besteht aus 8 mm Stahlblech.

  • Zur Ressourcenschonung haben wir eine thermische Solaranlage installiert. An sonnigen Tagen wird sämtliches Brauchwasser an Bord über diese Anlage erwärmt. Geplant ist der Aufbau einen Solaranlage zur Stromgewinnung. Auch soll die derzeit noch betriebene Ölheizung durch eine Wärmepumpe bzw. eine Wasserstoffheizung ausgetauscht werden
  • Seit 2008 führen wir von jeder bestätigten Buchung einen Betrag als Spende ab. Das von uns unterstützte Projekt wechselt jährlich. Zur Zeit helfen wir einem Erwachsenenbildungsprojekt in Südafrika, das Capt’n Edgar persönlich kennt.
  • Wir unterstützen zudem seit 2010 das soziale Projekt TARGET e.V. des deutschen Menschenrechtsaktivisten Rüdiger Nehberg. Hauptaufgabe der Organisation ist der Einsatz gegen weibliche Genitalverstümmelung, u.a. in Äthiopien und Mauretanien. Wir möchten TARGET dabei helfen. Von jeder gebuchten Kabine fließen pro Tag 10 Cent an das Projekt, das sind bis zu 1.450 € im Jahr
  • Wasser: erhitzt wird mit der Wärme der Sonne
  • Wärme/Heizung: durch Erdwärme (Wärmepumpen)
  • Licht: energiesparende Leuchten (LED)
  • Strom: für Dein Handy und das Licht kommt der Strom von der Sonne (Solaranlage auf dem Dach)
  • Verbrauchsgüter: werden mit unserem Elektroauto und Elektrofahrrad geholt (eigener Strom)
  • Bootstouren: Ihr werdet mit unserem Elektroboot herumchauffiert (eigener Strom)
  • Umwelt/Wasserwelt: Für die Wasservögel haben wir Brutinseln angelegt (Nistinseln)!

Auch Du kannst Deinen Beitrag leisten: Bitte spare am kostbaren Trinkwasser und schalte das Licht aus, wenn du Deine Kabine verlässt.

Unsere Umgebung

Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On InstagramVisit Us On Twitter